Retriever of Souls

‘Gritty and gripping’ – Colette McCormick, author of Ribbons in Her Hair. 

Brought up believing that sex is the devil’s work, a killer only finds release once he has saved his victim’s souls. Abiding by his vision, he marks them as his. A gift to guide his chosen ones on the rightful path to redemption.

Detective Inspector Paolo Sterling is out to stop him, but Paolo has problems of his own. Hunting down the killer as the death toll rises, the lines soon blur between Paolo’s personal and professional lives.

Children in Chains

‘A visceral, no-punches-pulled, gut-wrenching thriller. A disturbing and gripping tale of child prostitution, and the tragic detective Paolo Sterling dealing with the heartache of his own daughter’s sexual assault. Crime Noir at its darkest’ – Caroline Dunford, A Death in the Family 

‘D.I. Paolo Sterling is instantly engaging – Children in Chains is a dark, gripping and unflinching read’ – Louise Phillips, winner of the Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year, longlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library Award.

Detective Inspector Paolo Sterling is determined to shut down the syndicate flooding Bradchester’s streets with young prostitutes.

When a child is murdered, Paolo becomes aware of a sinister network of abusers spread across Europe, and spanning all levels of society. But Joey, the shadowy leader of the gang, always seems to be one step ahead in the chase. Has Paolo come up against a criminal he cannot defeat?

Injections of Insanity

This title will be released on June 13, 2019. It is available for pre-order now.

Detective Inspector Paolo Sterling has just six weeks to solve a series of murders by insulin injection, with nothing to connect the victims except the manner of death and a note left at each crime scene.

The murderer, determined to avenge a wrong from many years earlier, gets close to his prey by assuming various identities.

Can Paolo win in his race against the pretender?

Rage and Retribution

This title will be released on August 22, 2019. It is available for pre-order now.

Detective Inspector Paolo Sterling has more headaches than usual. Someone is abducting men and subjecting them to horrific acts of rape and torture, but who? More to the point – why?

After three days of cruelty and starvation, they are released. Why will none of them give any information which would help the police to find the perpetrator?

The victims refuse even to admit they were held captive.

Reviews of D. I. Sterling series

great British crime drama

I thoroughly enjoyed this story, and I can’t wait to start the next book in the series!

The Northern Witch’s Book Blog

excellent police procedural

This book kept me hooked and at one point I was convinced up to 4 different people could be the killer!

Books and Emma

could not put my kindle down while reading this!

It isn’t very often that I just know I’m gonna fall in love with a series halfway through the first book!

Feed the Crime

Wonderfully dark crime procedural

it’s a hidden gem of a perfect crime novel

Radzy Writes and Reviews

kept me guessing right until the end

Every time I thought I had it figured out, another spanner was thrown in the works and all my amateur detective work was thrown out the window!

K T Robson Reviews

Retriever of Souls is a wonderfully crafted novel

It’s filled with all sorts of twists and turns that not only kept me hooked till the last page but also made me excited for the next installment in the series.

Off the Record

A first class crime novel

Retriever of Souls is sinister, menacing and jam-packed with jaw dropping twists and turns …

Bookish Jottings

Instantly engaging

D.I. Paolo Sterling is instantly engaging – Children in Chains is a dark, gripping and unflinching read.

Louise Phillips, winner of the Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year, longlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library Award for her entire body of work.

Unflinching plots

Delve into the dark side. Well-constructed with unflinching plots.  Satisfying enough for the most discerning crime reader.

Ruth Dugdall, winner of the CWA Debut Dagger Award and author of best-selling psychological crime.

Compelling

Gripping, fast-paced crime fiction with a compelling central character. Fans of Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen will love Lorraine Mace.

Sheila Bugler, author of the DI Ellen Kelly series.

Compulsive reading

Fast-paced and compulsive reading with tension ratcheted to the max. D.I. Paolo Sterling’s humanity is tested by gut-wrenching crimes and damaged killers. Fans of Mo Hayder should love this series.

Chris Curran, author of psychological thrillers

Gritty and gripping

A gritty and positively compelling crime novel

Colette McCormick, author of Ribbons in Her Hair.

Gut-wrenching thriller

‘A visceral, no-punches-pulled, gut-wrenching thriller. A disturbing and gripping tale of child prostitution, and the tragic detective Paolo Sterling dealing with the heartache of his own daughter’s sexual assault. Crime Noir at its darkest’ 

Caroline Dunford, A Death in the Family