For Writers

Books for writers

The Writers’ ABC Checklist

Notes from the Margin

International writing competitions

Short Story

Novel Opening and Synopsis

Flash Fiction

Critique and author mentoring service

Lorraine’s critique and author mentoring service has been running since 2008. As well as providing critiques for short stories and flash fiction, she works with authors on full length novels and non-fiction books. She is currently mentoring authors on three continents.

Writers receive a report covering manuscript presentation, title, opening paragraphs, story resolution, dialogue, characterisation and an overall assessment. They also get back their original document marked up with track changes to show suggestions, comments and advice directly on the text.

The critiques cover not only where improvements are needed, but also detail what it is that writers are doing right! This is something that is often overlooked when work is appraised, but it is an important aspect in a writer’s progress.

Fees

Flash fiction: (up to 1,000 words) …………………£15

Short fiction: (1,001 to 3,000 words) …………….£30

Longer works of fiction and non-fiction: email for quote to lorraine@lorrainemace.com

How to submit work for critique

For longer works please contact me for a quote.

You can pay by clicking on the PayPal button below. You will be taken through a payment procedure. Afterwards, please submit your manuscript as an email attachment (any form of Word document) to: lorraine@lorrainemace.com

In the covering email give the title and word count, your full name and details of PayPal transaction if paying via a different email address to that used to submit the work.

Recommendations

After using several critique services with some disappointment, I tried Lorraine Mace, with Flash500 stories first, and then with longer short story MS and I recommend her without reserve. The full-page report on structure, character, plot, and other key elements is thorough and professional. There are also line-by-line editorial comments using Word review programme which is a great way to learn as well as to improve a particular story: Lorraine misses nothing. Most important for me though is her ‘eye for story’; her capacity to see deeply into the potential of a story you have only been skirting around without realising it. Eagle-eyed she is but her feedback is constructive and encouraging, and she responds to a request for clarification – not all critique services do that. She sticks to her estimated turn-around time too.

Trish Nicholson

Comments by recipients of Flash 500 critiques

Thank you for the thoughtful and helpful critique. I will bear your advice in mind and keep working on my weaknesses (and improving my strengths, I hope!)

 

Comments from users of other outlets where I provide a critique service

I appreciate your insight…I found it to be TREMENDOUSLY helpful. You gave me some really valuable information I can use to improve my stories.

Reviews of D. I. Sterling series

great British crime drama

I thoroughly enjoyed this story, and I can’t wait to start the next book in the series!

The Northern Witch’s Book Blog

excellent police procedural

This book kept me hooked and at one point I was convinced up to 4 different people could be the killer!

Books and Emma

could not put my kindle down while reading this!

It isn’t very often that I just know I’m gonna fall in love with a series halfway through the first book!

Feed the Crime

Wonderfully dark crime procedural

it’s a hidden gem of a perfect crime novel

Radzy Writes and Reviews

kept me guessing right until the end

Every time I thought I had it figured out, another spanner was thrown in the works and all my amateur detective work was thrown out the window!

K T Robson Reviews

Retriever of Souls is a wonderfully crafted novel

It’s filled with all sorts of twists and turns that not only kept me hooked till the last page but also made me excited for the next installment in the series.

Off the Record

A first class crime novel

Retriever of Souls is sinister, menacing and jam-packed with jaw dropping twists and turns …

Bookish Jottings

Instantly engaging

D.I. Paolo Sterling is instantly engaging – Children in Chains is a dark, gripping and unflinching read.

Louise Phillips, winner of the Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year, longlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library Award for her entire body of work.

Unflinching plots

Delve into the dark side. Well-constructed with unflinching plots.  Satisfying enough for the most discerning crime reader.

Ruth Dugdall, winner of the CWA Debut Dagger Award and author of best-selling psychological crime.

Compelling

Gripping, fast-paced crime fiction with a compelling central character. Fans of Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen will love Lorraine Mace.

Sheila Bugler, author of the DI Ellen Kelly series.

Compulsive reading

Fast-paced and compulsive reading with tension ratcheted to the max. D.I. Paolo Sterling’s humanity is tested by gut-wrenching crimes and damaged killers. Fans of Mo Hayder should love this series.

Chris Curran, author of psychological thrillers

Gritty and gripping

A gritty and positively compelling crime novel

Colette McCormick, author of Ribbons in Her Hair.

Gut-wrenching thriller

‘A visceral, no-punches-pulled, gut-wrenching thriller. A disturbing and gripping tale of child prostitution, and the tragic detective Paolo Sterling dealing with the heartache of his own daughter’s sexual assault. Crime Noir at its darkest’ 

Caroline Dunford, A Death in the Family