Who we are

Our website address is: https://lorrainemace.com

Visitor comments may be checked through an automated spam detection service.

Cookies

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

What are cookies?

Cookies are small files that get put on your computer by websites as you surf them. These cookies can store lots of information which can have privacy implications. We like to think all the cookies used on this site are fairly innocuous but that’s for you to judge.

What cookies do we use?

Session cookies

This website uses a ‘Content Management System’ (CMS) and relies on ‘session cookies’ to function.
No personal information of any sort stored in this cookie and it is detroyed when a user leaves the website ie ‘at the end of a session’.

Anonymous tracking software – Google Analytics

The website may also use Google Analytics (just like virtually everybody else) a service provided by Google.
They gather anonymous data of how people are using this site and then provide us with visitor statistics, details of page views etc etc. You can think of it as being a bit like CCTV but one that automatically blurs your face so we can see what people have done, but not who.

If you are anti-Google you can opt-out of being tracked by Google Analytics at
http://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout
(we’d prefer you didn’t though as this data is seriously helpful to us in improving our website).

Website widgets

There’s so many great free toys you can add to websites these days and rarely can we resist – anything from Twitter buttons to software that powers blog comments. Collectively they make our website more interesting to you as a site visitor. Sadly most of these come with cookies – that’s the ‘price of free’. So if this site uses ‘widgets’ such as Twitter feeds, Social Networking links, YouTube or Vimeo video you may find it is setting cookies as you surf this site.

They probably just collect details of pages visited, anonymise it, aggregate it with several thousand or million others people’s anonymous data and then look at pretty graphs. In many cases the cookies are used to generate identical information to Google Analytics (see above) and indeed use Google Analytics, so opting-out of Google Analytics will also opt you out of these cookies too.

Don’t want any cookies ever?

While we’d love to offer a cookie-free version of our site we are a small company and simply don’t have the resources to provide and maintain one. Unfortunately if you are really anti-cookie then there is no option except to not use our site.
You can remove any cookies we have already put on your machine within your browser settings – pressing Ctrl+Shift+Delete may work in many cases.
We will be sorry to see you go!

How do I turn cookies off?

It is usually possible to stop your browser accepting cookies, or to stop it accepting cookies from a particular website. For example, we cannot tell if you are signed in without using cookies, so you would not be able to post comments.

All modern browsers allow you to change your cookie settings. These settings will typically be found in the ‘options’ or ‘preferences’ menu of your browser. In order to understand these settings, the following links may be helpful, otherwise you should use the ‘Help’ option in your browser for more details.

Cookie settings in Internet Explorer
Cookie settings in Firefox
Cookie settings in Chrome
Cookie settings in Safari

Reviews of D. I. Sterling series

great British crime drama

I thoroughly enjoyed this story, and I can’t wait to start the next book in the series!

The Northern Witch’s Book Blog

excellent police procedural

This book kept me hooked and at one point I was convinced up to 4 different people could be the killer!

Books and Emma

could not put my kindle down while reading this!

It isn’t very often that I just know I’m gonna fall in love with a series halfway through the first book!

Feed the Crime

Wonderfully dark crime procedural

it’s a hidden gem of a perfect crime novel

Radzy Writes and Reviews

kept me guessing right until the end

Every time I thought I had it figured out, another spanner was thrown in the works and all my amateur detective work was thrown out the window!

K T Robson Reviews

Retriever of Souls is a wonderfully crafted novel

It’s filled with all sorts of twists and turns that not only kept me hooked till the last page but also made me excited for the next installment in the series.

Off the Record

A first class crime novel

Retriever of Souls is sinister, menacing and jam-packed with jaw dropping twists and turns …

Bookish Jottings

Instantly engaging

D.I. Paolo Sterling is instantly engaging – Children in Chains is a dark, gripping and unflinching read.

Louise Phillips, winner of the Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year, longlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library Award for her entire body of work.

Unflinching plots

Delve into the dark side. Well-constructed with unflinching plots.  Satisfying enough for the most discerning crime reader.

Ruth Dugdall, winner of the CWA Debut Dagger Award and author of best-selling psychological crime.

Compelling

Gripping, fast-paced crime fiction with a compelling central character. Fans of Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen will love Lorraine Mace.

Sheila Bugler, author of the DI Ellen Kelly series.

Compulsive reading

Fast-paced and compulsive reading with tension ratcheted to the max. D.I. Paolo Sterling’s humanity is tested by gut-wrenching crimes and damaged killers. Fans of Mo Hayder should love this series.

Chris Curran, author of psychological thrillers

Gritty and gripping

A gritty and positively compelling crime novel

Colette McCormick, author of Ribbons in Her Hair.

Gut-wrenching thriller

‘A visceral, no-punches-pulled, gut-wrenching thriller. A disturbing and gripping tale of child prostitution, and the tragic detective Paolo Sterling dealing with the heartache of his own daughter’s sexual assault. Crime Noir at its darkest’ 

Caroline Dunford, A Death in the Family