Thanks very much for the feedback- really useful! I’m a total beginner when it comes to writing fiction, hence the basic mistakes. Lots to learn, but really appreciate the critique.

Thank you very much for the critique. I found your comments and suggestions extremely useful, thank you.

Thank you for this valuable critique. I agree with nearly all your points and perhaps this story is more suited to a longer word limit so that the characters can be fleshed out.

Thank you for the thoughtful and helpful critique. I will bear your advice in mind and keep working on my weaknesses (and improving my strengths, I hope!)

Another great crit, thanks. I do feel I’m inching forward each time! Now going to reread a ‘chatty’ short story I’ve just finished to see if I can root out any lurking ‘telling’!

Thank you so much for your critique, tips and useful comments. I have only just started to find the time to write, although I have been wanting to for many years, so your feedback was really lovely and inspirational.

Thanks for such an encouraging and detailed critique. Great help.

Thank you for my critiques. You have been very thorough and given me lots to think about before I submit my entries for the next Flash500 competition. I have a friend who also writes but refuses to submit anything for critique, which I think is a real shame. You can learn so much from professional advice.

I’m very new to writing stories and your insights are both excellent and helpful. And good value for money too.

t’s a really useful critique with lots of ideas where I can make improvements.

This is great, very informative. It’s great to know what the problems with this story are, seems obvious now that you’ve pointed them out to me but at the same time I am grateful to you for highlighting the errors I make in my writing as now I can work on making my stories better.

Once again, thank you for your critiques. As always they are extremely helpful and I am more than happy to receive any kind of criticism, that will help me improve my writing.

I appreciate your insight…I found it to be TREMENDOUSLY helpful. You gave me some really valuable information I can use to improve my stories.

Thanks once again for the critique and for your comments, much appreciated.

Thank you very much for your very valuable comments!

The critique I received was 100% honest and professional, I could not ask for more.

Many thanks for your clear and very helpful feedback. I can see I have lots to improve on but I console myself this was my first attempt at flash fiction – hopefully, I can only get better!

Reviews of D. I. Sterling series

great British crime drama

I thoroughly enjoyed this story, and I can’t wait to start the next book in the series!

The Northern Witch’s Book Blog

excellent police procedural

This book kept me hooked and at one point I was convinced up to 4 different people could be the killer!

Books and Emma

could not put my kindle down while reading this!

It isn’t very often that I just know I’m gonna fall in love with a series halfway through the first book!

Feed the Crime

Wonderfully dark crime procedural

it’s a hidden gem of a perfect crime novel

Radzy Writes and Reviews

kept me guessing right until the end

Every time I thought I had it figured out, another spanner was thrown in the works and all my amateur detective work was thrown out the window!

K T Robson Reviews

Retriever of Souls is a wonderfully crafted novel

It’s filled with all sorts of twists and turns that not only kept me hooked till the last page but also made me excited for the next installment in the series.

Off the Record

A first class crime novel

Retriever of Souls is sinister, menacing and jam-packed with jaw dropping twists and turns …

Bookish Jottings

Instantly engaging

D.I. Paolo Sterling is instantly engaging – Children in Chains is a dark, gripping and unflinching read.

Louise Phillips, winner of the Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year, longlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library Award for her entire body of work.

Unflinching plots

Delve into the dark side. Well-constructed with unflinching plots.  Satisfying enough for the most discerning crime reader.

Ruth Dugdall, winner of the CWA Debut Dagger Award and author of best-selling psychological crime.

Compelling

Gripping, fast-paced crime fiction with a compelling central character. Fans of Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen will love Lorraine Mace.

Sheila Bugler, author of the DI Ellen Kelly series.

Compulsive reading

Fast-paced and compulsive reading with tension ratcheted to the max. D.I. Paolo Sterling’s humanity is tested by gut-wrenching crimes and damaged killers. Fans of Mo Hayder should love this series.

Chris Curran, author of psychological thrillers

Gritty and gripping

A gritty and positively compelling crime novel

Colette McCormick, author of Ribbons in Her Hair.

Gut-wrenching thriller

‘A visceral, no-punches-pulled, gut-wrenching thriller. A disturbing and gripping tale of child prostitution, and the tragic detective Paolo Sterling dealing with the heartache of his own daughter’s sexual assault. Crime Noir at its darkest’ 

Caroline Dunford, A Death in the Family